gnucash file structure

Bengt Thuree bengt at
Sun May 21 11:53:23 EDT 2006


Have you read the concept guide?

.xac is previous saved datafiles
.log is the transaction log since last save. (goes together with a .xac)
.LCK is to ensure only one user opens a datafile at a time.

On Sun, 2006-05-21 at 10:54 -0400, Philippe A. wrote:
> Hi,
> In the folder where I save my gnucash file, I notice different kind of
> files:
> *.xac
> *.log
> gnucash_file
> gnucash_file.LCK (lock file)
> What is the exact role of each file type?
> If I am to do a backup, do I really need the xac and log files? 
> I'd like to know also where/how the reports are saved. If I remember
> right, renaming my gnucash_file will cause my reports to vanish.
> Thanks!
> _______________________________________________
> gnucash-user mailing list
> gnucash-user at
> -----
> Please remember to CC this list on all your replies.
> You can do this by using Reply-To-List or Reply-All.

More information about the gnucash-user mailing list